The BPW/Maine Futurama Foundation recently awarded seven scholarships to Maine women.

$1,200 scholarships

• The Jeanne L. Hammond Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Sabrina Carey, who is pursuing a degree in forensic psychology at Franklin Pierce University. Carey is the daughter of Daniel and Heather Carey, of Waterville.

• The Kennebec Savings Bank Scholarship was awarded to Eva J. Farkas, who is pursuing a degree in chemistry and computer science at Columbia University. Farkas is the daughter of Thomas and Sheila Farkas, of Gardiner.

• The Lemieux-Lovejoy Youth Scholarship was awarded to Julia Tardy, who is pursuing a degree in exercise and movement sciences at University of Vermont. Tardy is the daughter of Danielle Bichard-Tardy, of Sullivan.

• The BPW/Maine Continuing Education Scholarship was awarded to Molly Ann Orcutt, who is pursuing a degree in mental health and human services at University of Maine at Augusta.


• The Webber Group Career Advancement Scholarship was awarded to Dawn Thibeault, who is pursuing a degree in nursing at University of Maine at Fort Kent.

$600 scholarships

• The BPW/University of Maine at Augusta Scholarship was awarded to university students Heather Seigars and Holli Corbett.

In 1987, the BPW/Maine Futurama Foundation was established to provide an ongoing endowment to ensure the continued availability of scholarships. The foundation is a 501(c)(3) organization and all donations are tax deductible. The foundation enhances the BPW tradition of women helping women.

Scholarship applications for 2017, will be available on Jan. 1, 2017, on the BPW/Maine Futurama Foundation website at

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.