Eighteen drug prevention organizations in Maine have been awarded $2.25 million in federal grants, U.S. Sens. Angus King and Susan Collins announced Tuesday.

The grants of $125,000 each, which are to be matched by donors in each organization’s community, are provided through the Office of National Drug Control Policy’s Drug-Free Communities Support Program, which began in 1997 to prevent youth substance abuse.

“The opioid epidemic is taking an unimaginable toll on families across Maine, which is why investing in community coalitions is so important,” Collins and King said in a joint statement. “These coalitions are determined to support our young people and turn the tide against this epidemic, and we will continue to work to combat the drug crisis and help ensure that future generations of Mainers can live happy and healthy lives.”

Sue Patterson, who directs the Choose to be Healthy Coalition in southern York County, said this award is the second round of grant awards for her group. She said $125,000 will be disbursed annually for the next five years.

The following organizations received new awards of $125,000 each:

– SoPo Unite: All Ages, All In, to serve South Portland

– Choose To Be Healthy Coalition, southern York County

– Mid-Maine Substance Use Prevention Coalition, Greater Waterville and northern Kennebec County

The following organizations received continuing awards of $125,000 each:

– Sanford Strong Coalition, to serve Sanford

– Casco Bay CAN (Create Awareness Now), Freeport, Falmouth, Yarmouth, Cumberland, North Yarmouth, Gray, New Gloucester, and Pownal

– Westbrook Communities that Care, Westbrook

– Coastal Healthy Communities Coalition-Project Alliance, Biddeford

– Be the Influence Coalition: A Windham-Raymond Collaborative, Windham and Raymond

– ACCESS Health, Brunswick, Harpswell and Sagadahoc County

– Healthy Lincoln County Substance Abuse Prevention Coalition, Lincoln County

– Southern Kennebec Substance Abuse Work Group, Gardiner, Augusta and the capital area of central Maine

– Healthy Sebasticook Valley Coalition, Sebasticook Valley region

– Bangor Public Health Advisory Board Substance Abuse Prevention, Bangor

– Healthy Acadia, Down East Acadia region

– Community Alcohol and Drug Education Team (CADET) Aroostook, Aroostook County

– River Valley Healthy Communities Coalition, Dixfield, Mexico, Rumford, Bethel and other areas of Oxford County

– Healthy Aroostook Coalition, Aroostook County

– Healthy Community Coalition will receive, Greater Franklin County

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.