JACKMAN — Ian West, of Jackman, a Forest Hills High School senior, has been selected to receive the 2017 Principal’s Award, Principal Denise Plante announced in a news release.

The award, sponsored by the Maine Principals’ Association, is given in recognition of a high school senior’s academic achievement and citizenship.

West has distinguished himself by demonstrating academic excellence in his classes and by taking challenging coursework beyond graduation requirements.

He has earned the President’s Award for Educational Excellence for four years, which means he has been awarded high honors or honors each semester. He has won highest academic achievement in several math classes. He has taken numerous college courses and online Advanced Placement classes.

West was inducted into the National Honor Society as a sophomore. While maintaining high academic achievement, he has earned recognition several months each year for perfect attendance as well as Student of the Month and Random Acts of Kindness awards.

Outside of the classroom, West serves as the student representative to the school board. He has been honored with the Outstanding Student Council Member. He is also active as the boys and girls basketball scorekeeper for four years and the girls varsity softball scorekeeper for three years.

He has been in the cast of the Children’s Stage Adventure (mostly in lead roles) since kindergarten. He is also an active member of the Jackman Youth Leadership, Color Guard, math team, debate team, strength and conditioning, yearbook club and a class representative to the school’s College and Career Planning MELMAC team.

Outside of school, West can be found giving many hours of his time in community service while maintaining a job.

West, along with Plante, and other award winners and their principals plan to attend an honors luncheon April 1 at the Spectacular Event Center in Bangor.

The luncheon recognizes the students with the presentation of an individual plaque and the awarding of five $1,000 scholarships in the names of Horace O. McGowan and Richard W. Tyler. McGowan and Tyler were former Maine principals and executive directors of the Association.

An additional five $1,000 scholarships will be presented through the efforts of the MPA Scholarship Golf Tournament.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.