FAIRFIELD — James LeBlanc, of Fairfield, a Lawrence High School senior, has been selected to receive the 2017 Principal’s Award, Principal Mark Campbell announced in a news release.

The award is sponsored by the Maine Principals’ Association and is given in recognition of a high school senior’s achievement and citizenship.

LeBlanc, son of Steven and Sarah LeBlanc, has distinguished himself as a leader during his tenure at Lawrence High School. Vice president of the Lawrence High Chapter of the National Honor Society, he was selected to the honor society mid-way through his sophomore year.

He has maintained high honor roll for his first 14 quarters, while enrolling and successfully completing honors, advanced and Advanced Placement courses in English language arts, mathematics, sciences and social studies.

Furthermore, he was selected by the faculty at Colby College this past fall to complete a study in Greek history.

Beyond the classroom, LeBlanc has been involved in a number of activities and clubs. His many accomplishments outside of the classroom include Disc Golf Club, marching band, speech, math team, Latin Club, and theatre. Theatre and Latin Club have been four-year commitments, where he was voted president of the club his junior and senior years, and he has been in the One Act Play competitions that have been selected the past two years to compete at states.

His teachers recognized LeBlanc’s consistent academic efforts and involvement in the school with the honor of being the Senior Student of the Month in November.

LeBlanc’s involvement in the communities include volunteering to assist with the Home for Little Wanderers for the past four years. He has also volunteered at the Waterville Opera House for three years.

His future plans include studies in engineering.

James, Campbell and other award winners and their principals are invited to attend an honors luncheon Saturday, April 1, at the Spectacular Events Center in Bangor.

The luncheon recognizes these students with a presentation of an individual plaque and the awarding of five $1,000 scholarships in the names of Horace O. McGowan and Richard W. Tyler, both former principals and executive directors of the Association.

An additional five $1,000 scholarships will be presented through the efforts of the MPA Scholarship Golf Tournament.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.