MADISON — Voters on Tuesday returned an incumbent to the Board of Selectmen and selected a newcomer, filling two open seats on the board.

The race had four candidates in all. Vice Chairman John “Jack” Ducharme ran for his third term on the board, which also serves as the Board of Assessors and Overseers of the Poor. He was elected with 186 votes. Newcomer George Elias received the second-most votes, with 181.

Incumbent Mike Edgerly was seeking his second term on the board and received 169 votes. A fourth challenger, David Savage, received 150 votes.

Ducharme, 58, branch manager of Skowhegan Savings Bank and vice chairman of the board, said he was running again because of ongoing work with the board he wanted to see finished.

Elias, listed as the president of Elias Woodworking Inc. and a director of the Anson-Madison Sanitary District, did not return calls to be interviewed.

Edgerly, 44, a contractor for RTD Roofing, said he ran again in part because he saw hurdles the town was facing and wanted to continue to help guide the town over them.


Both Ducharme and Edgerly had mentioned the closure of the former Madison Paper Industries mill as a major hurdle facing the town, especially as it affects the tax rate.

Savage, 44, a sergeant with the Oakland Police Department and a member of the Oakland Fire Department, was running for the board for the first time. He also works part time for the code enforcement office in Augusta. He ran in part because he had heard concerns from residents he spoke with about the tax rate going up after the mill closing.

The only other contested race in Madison was for a seat on the Madison Electric Works board of directors, where incumbent Charles Worster was challenged by Brett Hagoplan. Worster won, 227 to Hagopian’s 132.

All other races in Madison were either uncontested or required write-in candidates. Incumbent Kristie LeBlanc and Robert Dimock were elected for three-year terms on the School Administrative District 59 board of directors. Zena Griffeth received 37 write-in votes for a one-year term on the board.

Glen Mantor was elected to the post of road commissioner. Kathy Estes was re-elected as town clerk. Robert Roy was re-elected to the Anson-Madison Sanitary District board of directors. Roy was also elected as a Madison Public Library trustee.

Dana Berry, a write-in candidate, received 23 votes to win a spot on the Water District board of directors.


Write-in candidates have the opportunity to accept or reject appointments, as they weren’t declared candidates.

Colin Ellis — 861-9253

Twitter: @colinoellis

Comments are no longer available on this story

filed under: