Hannah Hargrove, of Sidney, a Messalonskee High School senior, has been selected to receive the 2018 Principal’s Award, according to a news release from Principal Paula Callan. The award, sponsored by the Maine Principals’ Association, is given in recognition of a high school senior’s academic achievement and citizenship.

“Throughout her years at Messalonskee High, Hannah has distinguished her self in the classroom, in the performing arts, and as a leader in the school and the community,” Callan said in making the award, according to the release. “She very much deserves this recognition.”

Hargrove, Callan and other award winners and their principals are invited to attend an honors luncheon on Saturday, April 7, at the Spectacular Event Center in Bangor.

The luncheon recognizes these outstanding students with the presentation of an individual plaque and the awarding of five $1,000 scholarships in the names of Horace O. McGowan and Richard W. Tyler, according to the release.

McGowan and Tyler were former Maine principals and executive directors of the association.

An additional five $1,000 scholarships will be presented through the efforts of the MPA Scholarship Golf Tournament.

The Principal’s Award is presented in more than 100 Maine public and private high schools by member principals of the MPA, the professional association that represents Maine’s school administrators.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.