Zachary Beaton, Hermon junior: Beaton won the Class B high jump (6-2), triple jump (42-9 1/4) and 55-meter hurdles (7.97).

Ben Cotton, John Bapst senior: Cotton earned Class B titles in the 55 (6.75) and long jump (21-5 1/4), and finished second in the 400 (53.55).

Dominic Creenan, Westbrook senior: Creenan was the Class A champion in the long jump (22-0) and 55-meter hurdles (7.78), and ran the state’s fastest time this season in the hurdles (7.77).

Lisandro Berry-Gaviria, Mt. Ararat sophomore: Berry-Gaviria won both the mile (4:22.72) and 2-mile (9:58.80) at the Class A championships.

Jarett Flaker, Scarborough sophomore: Flaker set state records in the 55 (6.50) and 200 (22.32), and also won the 400 (49.87) at the Class A championships, then took third in the 300 (34.92) at the New England championships. His season-best times of 22.28 in the 200, 34.92 in the 300 and 49.24 in the 400 were all the fastest ever by a Maine high school runner.

Luke Laverdiere, Yarmouth senior: Laverdiere easily defended his Class B title in the 2-mile by 58 seconds (9:35.31). He posted the fastest times of the season in the mile (4:17.55) and 2-mile (9:25.09).


Jason Montano, Thornton Academy junior: Montano won the Class A championship by more than 11 feet with his throw of 57-1 1/4, then captured the New England title (55-10).

Cayden Spencer-Thompson, Mattanawcook Academy junior: Despite not competing in the state championships because he played basketball, Spencer-Thompson earned All-America status in the triple jump by finishing fourth at the New Balance indoor nationals with a Maine all-time best mark of 48-101/4. He also posted an all-time Maine best of 23-10 1/4 in the long jump at the nationals.

Matthew Todd, Greely junior: Won the mile (4:40.32) and was fifth in the 800 (2:09.87) while helping Greely earn its first Class B state championship in nine years.

Alex Wilkins, Windham senior: Captured the triple jump at the Class A state meet (43-4 3/4) and took second in the long jump (21-9 1/2), then placed fourth in the long jump at the New England championshps (22-3).

Coach of the Year

John Folan, Greely: Greely swept the boys’ and girls’ team titles at the Class B championships, as the girls won for the second straight year while the boys earned their first championship since 2009.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.