VASSALBORO — The newest crop of police officers in Maine graduated Friday from the Criminal Justice Academy.

Bucksport police Chief Sean Geagan, who also is president of the Maine Chiefs of Police Association, told the graduates, “Never betray, always have courage, and always uphold the constitution, your community and your agency.”

The 65 officers spent 18 weeks training and studying at the academy. They will begin patrolling immediately ahead of Memorial Day weekend. The new officers studied topics such as crime scene processing, emergency vehicle operation, first aid, traffic and criminal law, domestic violence and sexual assault.

The graduates include five game wardens and three marine patrol officers, who will continue training with their state agencies before beginning their own patrols.

The new officers in central and western Maine include:

• Officer Joseph G. Tripp, with the Auburn police.

• Officer Phillip H. DiLuca, with the Clinton police.

• Officer Alyshia D. Canwell, with the Dexter police.

• Officer Brandon L. Sholan, with the Farmington police.

• Deputy Alan R. Elmes Jr., with the Franklin County Sheriff’s Office.

• Officer Daniel R. Ross, with the Gardiner police.

• Deputy Tad M. Nelson, with the Kennebec County Sheriff’s Office.

• Officer David J. Allen, with the Lewiston police.

• Officer Alec W. Collins, with the Lewiston police.

• Deputy Chase M. Bosse, with the Lincoln County Sheriff’s Office.

• Emily J. Lopez, with the Maine Marine Patrol.

• Alexandre S. Michaud, with the Maine Marine Patrol.

• Nicholas S. Stilwell, with the Maine Marine Patrol.

• Tennie J. Coleman, with the Maine Warden Service.

• James H. Gushee, with the Maine Warden Service.

• Michael E. Latti, with the Maine Warden Service.

• Tyler M. Leach, with the Maine Warden Service.

• Jason A. Voter, with the Maine Warden Service.

• Deputy Stephen D. Armiger, with the Somerset County Sheriff’s Office.

• Olivia T. Mora, from Surry and a tuition student from Thomas College.

• Deputy Mariza N. Gionfriddo, with the Waldo County Sheriff’s Office.

Officer Paul D. Heath III, with the Waterville police.

Officer Savannah M. Brennan, with the Winthrop police.

Officer James J. Fisher, with the Wiscasset police.

Comments are not available on this story.

filed under:

Augusta and Waterville news

Get news and events from your towns in your inbox every Friday.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.