LIMESTONE — The Maine School of Science and Mathematics, a tuition-free, public, residential high school serving students from across the state, graduated 45 students in its 23rd commencement on May 26.

This year’s graduates include Samuel Battcock-Emerson, of Kittery; Tobyn Blatt, of Brunswick; Brooke Bolduc, of Livermore; Stephenie Bragg, of Perham; Bailey Chalmers, of Lincoln; Richard Cheung, of Portland; Lisa Curtis, of Princeton; James Cyr, of Madawaska; Christopher Evans, of Portland; Brett Foster, of Fairfield; Tucker Fournier, of Saco; and Sarah Franklin, of Presque Isle.

Also, Scott Gilley, of Steep Falls; Wyatt Giroux, of Wales; David Govoni, of Skowhegan; Riley Hagerstrom, of Strong; Abigail Hodgkins, of South China; Naomi Kihn, of Warren; Shterna Kuptchik, of Madawaska; Grace Kurtz, of Raymond; Fariel LaMountain, of Brownfield; Yijia Liu, of People’s Republic of China; Molly Meagher, of Richmond; Sasha Michaud, of Winslow; Mabel Monroe, of South Thomaston; Sophie Moore, of Camden; Victoria Moore, of Yarmouth; and Samuel Murray, of Freeport.

Also, Kahlan Newsom, of Eddington; Reed Oestreicher, of Yarmouth; Jackson Perkins, of Portland; Kyle Provencal, of Richmond; Haili Rahkonen, of Morrill; Andrea Rawson, of Old Town; Abigail Raymond, of Biddeford; Claudia Serban, of Bath; Hannah Sha’afi, of Levant; Christian Silva, of North Waterboro; Aidan Sites, of Leeds; Sophia Smith, of North Yarmouth; Lily Tedford, of Scarborough; Oliver Wainman, of Kennebunkport; Mia Walsh, of Benton; Samantha Williams, of Fairfield; and Samantha Zwecker, of Rockport.

Lee T. “Pete” Pedersen, retiring mathematics instructor and mathematics department chairman at MSSM, was the keynote speaker. He recollected his many years of teaching and how he decided to come to MSSM to teach math.

Sophie Moore was the student speaker.

Students in the class of 2018 plan to attend the following institutions: Boston College, Bowdoin College, Carnegie Mellon University, Champlain College, Clark University, Clarkson University, Colby College, Eckerd College, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Harvey Mudd College, Lehigh University, University of Maine at Presque Isle, Maine Maritime Academy, University of Maine, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, University of Massachusetts Amherst, McGill University, Mount Holyoke College, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Rochester Institute of Technology, Smith College, University of Southern Maine, Stevens Institute of Technology, Suffolk University, Tufts University, University of Utah, Williams College and Worcester Polytechnic Institute.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.