SKOWHEGAN — Vanessa York and Roger Staples were elected Tuesday to the Skowhegan Board of Selectmen.

York, 47, received 597 votes. Staples, 65, received 360 votes.

York is the manager of Quinn’s Hardware store on Waterville Road, owned by her parents, Lynda and Tom Quinn.

Roger Staples is a retired chief technician who was with Beeline Cable TV and currently is a school bus driver in Skowhegan.

Incumbent Road Commissioner Greg Dore, first elected in March 1992, won handily a return to office, unopposed on the ballot for a three-year term. He received 1,009 votes. Write-in candidate Mark Kresge received 62 votes.

Gail Pelotte won re-election as town clerk and town treasurer, also unopposed for a three-year term. On the ballot Tuesday for school board, four incumbent directors were all unopposed and were re-elected. They are Harold Bigelow, Lynda Quinn, Amy Rouse and Todd Smith.

Seven candidates were vying for two open seats on the Skowhegan Board of Selectmen in municipal elections Tuesday.

Incumbent Selectmen Soren Siren and the current board Vice Chairwoman Darla Pickett declined to seek re-election, leaving the two seats open. The term of office is three years.

The other candidates for selectman were:

• Darryll White, 59, (273 votes) recently was appointed chief administrator of Lake George Regional Park. He is a third-party contractor for Maine Grains in Skowhegan, focusing on marketing and account management of the Maine craft brewing accounts, and is on the board of directors of Main Street Skowhegan and the Kennebec Valley Tourism Council, while volunteering on several committees and working for the Wesserunsett Arts Council, where he has a show on WXNZ community radio.

White, who moved to Skowhegan just last year, said he spent 20 years running bicycle tourism businesses.

• Paul Natale, 61, (324 votes) a senior desktop analyst for computers and software at MaineGeneral Medical Center in Waterville, was a selectman in Canaan for three years before moving to Skowhegan four years ago. He ran for selectman in Skowhegan two years ago and was defeated by only a few votes.

• Steven Conley, 50, (276 votes) has been the pastor at Faith Baptist Church on Route 104 in Skowhegan for nine years, while running a construction company and an energy business. He also is the current Skowhegan Planning Board chairman.

• John Grohs, 68, (158 votes) said he is qualified for the position of selectman because of his 10 years of serving on the town Budget Committee and six years on the Skowhegan Board of Assessors, where he is the vice chairman.

• David Hayward Jr., 33, (88 votes) works for Poulin’s Antiques and Auctions on U.S. Route 201 in Fairfield and has been a resident of Skowhegan for eight years.

Doug Harlow — 612-2367

[email protected]


Comments are not available on this story.

Augusta and Waterville news

Get news and events from your towns in your inbox every Friday.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.