Six $1,200 scholarships recently were awarded to Maine women by the BPW/Maine Futurama Foundation.

The BPW/Maine Continuing Education Scholarship was awarded to Sharon Platt, of Biddeford, who is pursuing a degree in human biology/biotechnology at University of Southern Maine in Portland.

The Jeanne L. Hammond Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Molly Doyle, of West Newfield, who is pursuing a degree in education/government at College of Holy Cross in Worcester, Massachusetts.

Kennebec Savings Bank Scholarship was awarded to Kimberly Gibbs, of Winslow, who is pursuing a degree in nursing at Kennebec Valley Community College in Fairfield.

Lemieux-Lovejoy Youth Scholarship was awarded to Grace Lee, of Falmouth, who is pursuing a degree in biology at Bowdoin College in Brunswick.

Webber Group Career Advancement Scholarship was awarded to Brigette D. Golter, of Kittery, who is pursuing a degree in nursing at Southern Maine Community in South Portland.

The BPW/University of Maine at Augusta Scholarship was awarded to Amy Cossar, of Augusta.

In 1987, the BPW/Maine Futurama Foundation was established to provide an ongoing endowment to ensure the continued availability of scholarships.

Scholarship applications for 2019 will be available on January 1 on the BPW/Maine Futurama Foundation website at

Augusta and Waterville news

Get news and events from your towns in your inbox every Friday.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.