AUGUSTA — Patsy Crockett has been elected chairwoman of the Kennebec County Commissioners.

At its first meeting of the year, the three-member board designated its chairwoman.

District 2 Commissioner Nancy Rines, who has served as chairwoman for the last four years, nominated Crockett, and District 3 Commissioner George Jabar seconded the motion.

“I just want to say thank you to Nancy for all you have done,” Crockett said, who added that both Rines and Jabar have helped her a great deal in her time on the commission.

Rines said following the meeting that Crockett would do a good job.

County government operates at a regional level, between municipalities and the state. County commissioners are responsible for fiscal operations and policy decisions for the county.


Crockett was first appointed to the Kennebec County Commission in February 2016 by Gov. Paul LePage to serve remainder of that year in the wake of the death of the Beverly Daggett in 2015. Crockett ran for the commission seat later that year, and was elected.

Crockett served two terms in the Maine House of Representatives and is a former lobbyist for the Maine Sheriff’s Association and Maine county commissioners. A former state legislator and lobbyist, she represents District 1, which is Augusta, Chelsea, China, Manchester, Sidney, Vassalboro and Windsor.

Jessica Lowell — 621-5632

[email protected]

Twitter: @JLowellKJ

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.