Ally Waller, of Augusta, a senior at Cony High School, has been selected to receive the 2019 Principal’s Award, according to a news release from Principal Kim Silsby.

The award, sponsored by the Maine Principals’ Association, is given in recognition of a high school senior’s academic achievement and citizenship.

“Throughout Ally’s years at Cony, she has demonstrated high academic achievement and leadership in the school and community. She is the president of Cony’s National Honor Society and has volunteered numerous hours to help her community. In addition to her achievement, Ally is a kind and compassionate student who helps to create a positive climate at Cony,” Silsby noted in making the award.

Waller, Silsby and other award winners and their principals will attend an honors luncheon Saturday, April 6, at Jeff’s Catering in Bangor.

The luncheon will recognize these outstanding students with the presentation of an individual plaque and the awarding of five $1,000 scholarships in the names of Horace O. McGowan and Richard W. Tyler.

McGowan and Tyler were former Maine principals and executive directors of the association. An additional five $1,000 scholarships will be presented through the efforts of the MPA Scholarship Golf Tournament.

The Principal’s Award is presented in more than 100 Maine public and private high schools by member principals of the MPA, the professional association which represents Maine’s school administrators.

filed under: