A roundup of results from Saturday’s Town Meetings:


Total budget approved: $353,315

Major spending items: $174,220 for items including summer roads, Municipal Building, government administration, Fire Department, paving, care of cemeteries and septic. Voters approved spending $38,000 from surplus to build a salt and sand pad on Route 150, they rejected a request to authorize selectmen to start the process for withdrawing from School Administrative District 4, and they voted to approve recommending that the Legislature amend the charter of Hospital Administrative District 4.

Local races: Ronald Watson was re-elected third selectman and Donna Sawyer was re-elected town clerk.

Number of people in attendance: 87



Total budget approved: $1.4 million (including use of reserves); $994,869 to be raised by taxation.

Major spending items: 3 percent cost-of-living raises for town employees; $25,000 from taxation to put into capital improvement fund to buy land behind the Town Office; $100,000 set aside for future paving projects; $75,000 from taxation for emergency services; $250,000 for repair and maintenance of bridges, roads and culverts; and $291,740, winter roads.

Local races: Selectman Charles Taylor, Road Commissioner Michael Witham and Kevin Sousa, of Regional School Unit 74 Board of Directors, all re-elected; Susan Hathaway elected assessor.

Number of people in attendance: about 40



Total budget approved: $752, 063

Major spending items: $125,000, summer roads; $260,000, winter roads; $48,314, town’s share of 2019 operating expenses for Kingfield Transfer Station; $44,245, Fire Department.

Local races: Raymond Poulin elected selectman; Valerie Pinkham elected to SAD 74 board of directors

Number of people attending: 36



Total budget approved: $1.25 million

Major spending items: borrowing up to $910,000 to pave Melody Lane and Denbow, Mountain, Nelson, Pond, Ripley and Square roads; putting $100,000 into the fire hall reserve account for future construction of a fire hall; $25,000 for a used highway truck; $30,000 to increase salaries of town employees and increase the firefighter stipend fund. Residents also voted to make the town clerk’s job an appointive position, rather than elective.

Local races: Peter Denbow defeated challenger Eric Moulton for selectman; Elizabeth Gagnon was elected town clerk; Stephen Emery was re-elected road commissioner; Eleanor Davids, Joseph Madigan and Shelda Madigan were elected to the Budget Committee.

Number of people in attendance: 45

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.