WISCASSET — Four-time track champion Chris Thorne of Sidney wheeled around Whitefield’s Jake Hendsbee on a restart with nine laps remaining and held on for a season-opening victory in the 40-lap Late Model feature at Wiscasset Speedway on Saturday night. Hendsbee, making his first career Late Model start after jumping up from Wiscasset’s Outlaw Mini Stock division, finished second.

“We’re on four new tires, so that’s a big help,” Thorne said. “Whenever it’s cooler out, this car always seems to be better. It stayed good all last year, which was the first time it was good throughout the whole summer, so if we can maintain that, we’ll be in good shape.”

Josh St. Clair of Liberty was third, while defending Late Model champion Andrew McLaughlin rallied to finish fourth after starting 20th in the 21-car field on opening night for the track’s Group 2 divisions.

The win was the 25th of Thorne’s career at Wiscasset.

In other feature racing, Jonathon Emerson of Sabattus won the 25-lap Strictly Street event, Jimmy Childs of Leeds was victorious in the Outlaw Mini division and Nick Reno of West Bath won the 20-lap Modified race, pending final post-race technical inspection.


Nine-time track champion Jeff Taylor of Farmington won the 50-lap Super Late Model feature Saturday night.

The victory was the 76th win of Taylor’s career at Oxford, fifth on the all-time list.

Matt Dufault won the Street Stock feature event, and Dustin Salley was the Bandit victor.


Old Orchard Beach driver Bill Rodgers returned to a familiar place Saturday night, victory lane.

The 2011 track champion held off Donnie Colpritt Jr. of Scarborough and Dave Oliver of Standish for the 40-lap win.

Dave Cameron won the Wildcat main event, while Clyde Hennessey was the Sport Series winner.


Defending Pro All Stars Series champion D.J. Shaw of Center Conway, New Hampshire, won the Little Webb’s Tires & Fuel 150 at Star Speedway in Epping, New Hampshire, on Saturday night.

It was Shaw’s second win in three races this season.

Joe Squeglia Jr. of Derry, New Hampshire, and Nick Sweet of Barre, Vermont, completed the podium, with Hallowell’s Johnny Clark and Manchester’s Reid Lanpher rounding out the top five.


Reigning American-Canadian Tour champion Scott Payea of Milton, Vermont, rebounded from not qualifying for the tour’s most recent event to win the Spring Green 119 at White Mountain Motorsports Park in North Woodstock, New Hampshire, on Saturday night.

Payea took the lead on lap 66 and led the rest of the way around the quarter-mile for his 16th career ACT win.

Quinny Welch, Rich Dubeau, Jimmy Hebert and Patrick Laperle completed the top five in the 30-car field.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.