Erskine Academy in South China held two virtual Renaissance assemblies Jan. 20 and 21 to recognize first trimester award recipients.

Emma Hutchinson Lifetouch National School Studios Inc.

Four seniors received Senior of the Trimester Awards: Emma Hutchinson, daughter of Kimberly and Richard Hutchinson of Windsor; Delaney Ireland, daughter of Amy and Scott Ireland of Vassalboro; Kelby Austin Young, son of Pamela and Kelby Young of Chelsea; and Michael Nicholas III, son of Vaunalee Foster of Chelsea, and Michael Nicholas II of Chelsea.

Seniors of the Trimester are recognized as individuals who have gone above and beyond in all aspects of their high school careers., according to a news release from the academy.

Delaney Ireland Lifetouch National School Studios Inc.

In addition, tenure awards also were presented to seven faculty members: Jessica Haskell and Scott Minzy, both for 15 years of service; Gilberto Ortiz and Michael Soule, both for 20 years of service; Heather Shute and Sonia Stevenson, both for 25 years of service; and to Roxanne Malley, for 40 years of service.

Kelby Austin Young Lifetouch National School Studios Inc.

The Faculty of the Trimester award for first trimester was presented to all faculty and staff in recognition of and appreciation for their valuable contributions to the academy. When presenting the award, Headmaster Mike McQuarrie said, “The pandemic has taken much, and it has required much. Thank you teachers and staff for your sacrifices when teaching, coaching, serving, driving, advising, feeding, and supporting others’ work. We are beyond grateful to you for accepting the challenges of your valuable work and for endeavoring every day to bring out the best in our young people, each other, and our school,” according to the release.

Michael Nicholas III Lifetouch National School Studios Inc.

A special faculty award presentation was also made to School Librarian Crystal Shamus-Douglas. Shamus-Douglas was the recipient of the Walter J. Taranko School Librarian Award for 2020, presented by the Maine Association of School Libraries.

The award is given to school librarians who have made a significant contribution to the profession on a local or state level, and includes a $500 donation to the recipient’s school library.