The Joseph W. Mayo ALS Scholarship Committee has announced this year’s major scholarship recipients. Both students have been awarded $1,800 scholarships and have participated in providing care to family members afflicted by amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), according to a news release from Joseph Pietroski Jr., chairman of the scholarship committee.

The spring semester 2021 award winners are as follows:

Madison LaVasseur Contributed photo

Madison LeVasseur of Whitefield, daughter of Noel LeVasseur and Ann Manning. A graduate of Hall-Dale High School in Farmingdale, she attends the University of Alabama.

Hanna Roy Contributed photo

Hanna Roy of Auburn, daughter of Gregory and Pat Roy, an Edward Little High School graduate who attends St. Joseph’s College in Windham.

The scholarships have been awarded annually since 2003 to family members and significant caregivers. Information on this program, administered by the Maine Community Foundation, is available at Funding was made possible by contributions from Friends of Joe Mayo, television raffles at the annual legislators’ dinner, and others who wished to support this ALS assistance effort.

Mayo, of Thomaston and Augusta, died of ALS in 2002. He was a well-respected Maine leader, a five-term member of the Maine House, and was elected Clerk of the House in 1992. A father of three and devoted husband, he was nationally recognized for his expertise in legislative rules and elections, and completed just before his death a 10-year revision of “Mason’s Manual of Legislative Procedure,” now used by state legislatures across the nation.


filed under: