The Maine Educational Opportunity Center will host free, individualized “Essentials of College Planning” sessions for adults looking for a new career or returning to higher education.

The virtual sessions are being held the following dates:
• Thursday, April 1 at 10 and 11 a.m.;
• Friday, April 2 at 9 and 10 a.m.;
• Monday, April 5 at 9 a.m. and 1 p.m.;
• Tuesday, April 6 at 10 and 11 a.m.;
• Wednesday, April 7 at 9 a.m. and 1 p.m.;
• Thursday, April 8 at 10 and 11 a.m.;
• Friday, April 9 at 9 and 10 a.m.;
• Monday, April 12 at 9 a.m. and 1 p.m.;
• Tuesday, April 13 at 10 and 11 a.m.;
• Wednesday, April 14 at 9 a.m. and 1 p.m.;
• Thursday, April 15 at 10 and 11 a.m.; and
• Friday, April 16 at 9 and 10 a.m.

The center is funded entirely by the U.S. Department of Education. The program helps qualified adults make the transition towards a new career and relevant educational credentials. It provides  individualized assistance in career planning, stackable credentials, completion of FAFSA (Free Application for Federal Student Aid), rehabilitation of defaulted loans, and finding the appropriate funding for education.

The center offers career advising, college planning, advocacy, matching participants to funding sources, financial aid and college application completion assistance, application fee waivers for qualified adults, and scholarship application completion assistance, along with helping to develop a plan for a new future.

Each individualized session lasts approximately an hour. Registration is encouraged. All services provided by the center are free.

If these times don’t fit a schedule, contact the center to explore options. All sessions are subject to change.

To register or for more information, call 1-800-281-3703 or visit meoc.maine.edu.