Benton held its annual Town Meeting vote Saturday entirely by secret ballot.

Incumbent Select Board Chairperson Doug Dixon was reelected, and write-in candidate Shawn Dixon was elected road commissioner.

Residents passed all but one of the 45 articles on the ballot. They voted 49-55 against a proposal to spend $19,611 to support a variety of nonprofit organizations. The Select Board and Budget Committee made no recommendation on the article.

The town approved the remaining articles, which included requests for $336,028 for general government, $300,754 for public safety, $205,234 for winter roads, $91,996 for the transfer station, $61,704 for public sewer and $76,273 for highway maintenance.

Voters also approved a general government ordinance, which includes language on political activity, board membership and conflict-of-interest issues. The ordinance, for example, stipulates a town employee may not also hold political office and town boards may not have members at the same time who are immediate family or living together.

Unity held its municipal election Friday and Town Meeting on Saturday.

Incumbent Board of Selectmen member Daniel McCormick was reelected, having received 125 votes, and write-in candidate Lynn Warman received 54 votes.

Decisions on Unity’s big-ticket ordinances have been scheduled for later this spring or summer, in the hope more residents will turn out after having been vaccinated against COVID-19.

Results from the votes on Unity’s budget articles were not available Sunday.

Related Headlines

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.