Ian Stebbins Contributed photo

FARMINGDALE — Resident Ian Stebbins, a senior at Hall-Dale High School, has been selected to receive the 2021 Principal’s Award.

The award, sponsored by the Maine Principals’ Association, is given in recognition of a high school senior’s academic achievement and citizenship.

Stebbins, the son of Mark and Karen Stebbins, is the last of three Stebbins brothers to graduate from Hall-Dale. Principal Mark Tinkham commented, “Ian has left an indelible mark on the Hall-Dale community. His presence in the classroom, the pitch, and the court have been a constant positive. At the start of the pandemic Ian noticed that his peers needed greater academic support. In his role as president of the National Honor Society he helped launch virtual tutorial sessions for students in grades 6-12 hosted by NHS members. His involvement and care for others has not gone unnoticed,” according in the news release.

As a three-sport varsity athlete he has also captained the soccer and basketball teams. Stebbins is the “dad” on the team. Although winning is nice, he concentrates his efforts on supporting younger or lesser-skilled players to become better. Although earning individual honors, his focus and love of the game shines in team accomplishments, including a couple of trips to the MVC Championship Game in two sports (winning a title) and earning runner-up status this past year in a COVID-related tournament.

Stebbins was the recipient of the University of Rochester Bausch and Lomb Book Award (awarded to a student who is excels in math and science) and many Mountain Valley Conference athletic awards. His other distinctions include All-State recognition, National Honor Society; and membership on the Key and Outing clubs.

Stebbins plans to attend Bowdoin College in the fall as part of the Class of 2025.

Stebbins, Tinkham and other award winners and their principals will participate in a Live Virtual Scholarship Drawing Event on Friday, May 14. Ten $1,000 scholarships will be drawn in the names of former Maine principals and MPA Executive Directors: Horace O. McGowan, Richard W. Tyler, and Richard A. Durost.

The Principal’s Award is presented in more than 100 Maine public and private high schools by member principals of the MPA, the professional association which represents Maine’s school administrators.

filed under: