The Maine Shrine Lobster Bowl Classic is returning to a traditional East-West tackle football contest, just as it was for the first 30 editions of the high school football senior all-star game that benefits Shriners Hospitals for Children.

The organizers of the event on Friday unveiled this year’s rosters, which return to East vs. West after last year’s 7-on-7 tournament that featured eight different teams. The event was canceled in 2020 due the coronavirus pandemic.

In addition to the roster announcements is the news that the event is returning to Lewiston High School’s Don Roux Field, where last year’s tournament was held. The game is scheduled for Saturday, July 16 at 4 p.m.

Both rosters feature a multitude of area players.

The West squad will be coached by Lisbon head coach Chris Kates. Area players on the roster include: Ryan Banister, Gardiner; Seth White, Maranacook; Caden Thompson, Oak Hill and Logan Baird, Winthrop/Monmouth/Hall-Dale.

Also on the West roster are Fitzpatrick Trophy winner Caden McDuffie of Cape Elizabeth and Gaziano Offensive Lineman of the Year Thomas Horton of Bonny Eagle.

The East squad, which will be coach by Foxcroft Academy head coach Dan White, includes the following area players: Weston Cooper, Brunswick; Ashton Dennett, Cony; Jackson Theriault, Madison; Bryce Bussell, MCI; Brayden Perkins, Messalonskee; Brady Doucette, Messalonskee; Haisen Foster, Mt. Blue; Sam Valleau, Mount View; Ryan McAfee, Nokomis; Marcus Hampton, Skowhegan; Liam Von Oesen, Waterville and Evan Bourget, Winslow.

The East squad also will feature Gaziano Defensive Lineman of the Year Casey Mills of Cony.

East and West cheerleading squads were also announced. The East roster includes Caitlyn Mayo, Lawrence; Kaylee Marks, Lawrence; Chloe Kay, Madison; Jocilynn Meader, Madison; Kylie Harrinton, Madison; Melanie Hughes, Skowhegan and Jasmyne Beaulieu of Skowhegan.

Comments are not available on this story.