AUGUSTA — The Kennebec Valley Chamber of Commerce’s annual award ceremony, the Kenney Awards, is scheduled for 4:30-10 p.m. Friday, July 15, at Mill Park.

The Kenney, named for the region it hails from, is awarded annually to area businesses and professionals deserving of the community’s attention and recognition. The Kenney’s will recognize seven awardees, with three of the awards being determined by live voting at the event, according to a news release from the chamber.

This year’s award recipients are Wick Johnson, Peter G. Thompson Lifetime Achievement; Smart Eye Care, Large Business of the Year; Kennebec Valley YMCA, Special Service Award; Dave Dostie, Community Service Award; and KV Tooling, Small Business of the Year.

The winners of the two remaining categories — President’s Choice and Cynergy Young Professional — will be decided and announced live. After watching short videos of the finalists in each category, attendees of the Kenney Awards will cast their votes by texting in for the finalist they wish to see take home the Kenney. Live voting is made possible by Ganneston Construction.

The finalists for the President’s Choice Award are Elliott Office Products, Gardiner Family Chiropractic, and Mid Maine Generator.

The finalists for the Cynergy Professional Award are Victoria Abbott, Hillary Roberts and Johnny Swan.


Prior to the award presentations, guest can have a cocktail and network with nearly 700 attendees. The cocktail hour is followed by heavy hors d’oeuvres.

After the awards are presented, there will be a music performance from the Pat Colwell and The Soul Sensations, presented by Everett Realty Group, and the night will end with fireworks over the Kennebec River, presented by Central Maine Pyrotechnics.

Presenting Sponsor is Skowhegan Savings Bank, and Headlining Sponsors are Central Maine Pyrotechnics, Headlight Audio Visual, and Kennebec Savings Bank.

Visit to purchase tickets or call the chamber at 207-623-4559 to reserve tickets.

filed under: