Chief Jared Mills Submitted photo

Capital Area Technical Center inducted 31 students on May 16 into its chapter of the National Technical Honor Society, according to a news release from the Augusta center.

Inductees are as follows.

Cony High School: Courtney Bacon, Building Construction; Raegan Bechard, Certified Nursing Assistant; Haylee Cyr, Certified Nursing Assistant; Aiden Fleck, Building Construction; Madison Jackson, Computer Technology; Ava Marchand, Early Childhood Education; Connor O’Neal, Plumbing & Heating; Emma Shaw, Law Enforcement; and Keygan Wyman, Law Enforcement.

Erskine Academy: Kaden Doughty, Building Construction; Wyatt French, Auto Body; Isaac Hayden, Electrical Technology; Hunter Marr, Plumbing & Heating; Andrew Shaw, Building Construction; Kiley Stevens, Certified Nursing Assistant; Hannah Torrey, Medical/Veterinarian Terminology; and Summer Wasilowski, Graphic Design & Printing.

Gardiner Area High School: Emma Baker, Culinary Arts; and Meagan Ladner, Certified Nursing Assistant.

Hall-Dale High School: Alexandra Young, Certified Nursing Assistant.


Maranacook Community High School: Ella Delisle, Certified Nursing Assistant; Madeleine MacDonald, Certified Nursing Assistant; London Putnam, Culinary Arts; and Ella Schmidt, Certified Nursing Assistant.

Monmouth Academy: Lillian Bell, Certified Nursing Assistant; and Taylor Truman, Certified Nursing Assistant.

Richmond High School: Cole Alexander, Building Construction; Shyann Miller, Culinary Arts; and Jacob Molnar, Auto Body.

Winthrop High School: Kamryn Dube, Culinary Arts; and Vanessa Richards, Early Childhood Education.

Every year, the CATC faculty selects a member of the community that has contributed to career and technical education to be inducted as an honorary member of the National Technical Honor Society. This year, Augusta Assistant Manager/Police Chief Jared Mills was selected. Mills has been instrumental in helping the center’s Law Enforcement Academy program with resources and equipment.

The students received training in mechanics of arrest, restraint and control, building clearing techniques and procedures, as well as information about the hiring process. Mills has partnered with the program in having second-year students go on ride-alongs with the Augusta Police Department. He has been an active member of the program’s advisory board since 2001.

At the Augusta Police Department there are six graduates of the CATC Law Enforcement Academy that are full-time sworn police officers and an additional three graduates of the CATC Law Enforcement Academy that are full-time sworn dispatchers.

Mills earned a bachelor’s degree from Saint Anselm College and a master’s degree in public administration from the University of Southern Maine. He is president of the Maine Chief’s of Police, a graduate of the FBI National Academy, as well as the Harvard Kennedy School of Government.

The National Technical Honor Society is an educational nonprofit that exists to honor, recognize and empower students and teachers in career and technical education. As the honor society for career & technical education, the society serves more than 100,000 active members annually in both secondary and post-secondary chapters across the country.