Billie Sherman, past president of the Skowhegan Woman’s Club, holds a timeline showcasing the Skowhegan Woman’s Club, present and past. Submitted photo

Tthe GFWC (General Federation of Women’s Clubs) Skowhegan Woman’s Club celebrated its 140th anniversary Nov. 10 in the Centenary United Methodist Church Fellowship Hall in Skowhegan.

Club President Bonnie Chamberlain delivered the opening remarks and welcomed guests. She introduced a number of local women who have supported the Skowhegan Woman’s Club in their many volunteer efforts, including Angie Herrick, director of the Skowhegan Free Public Library; Patricia Horine, president of the Board of Directors of the Skowhegan History House and Museum Center; Michelle LeClair, community educator of the Family Violence Project; Corp. Katelyn Nichols of the Skowhegan Police Department; and Pastor Jen Reed of the Centenary United Methodist Church.

Also applauded were past GFWC Maine state presidents and its current GFWC Maine state officers: President Maureen Provencal, President-Elect Beth Turner, Vice-President Norma Manning, Recording Secretary Gloria Aurelio, Treasurer Jane Briggs, and Parliamentary Advisor Suzanne Raymond. Jan Mabee and Deb Ferrell, co-presidents of the GFWC Maine Northern District, and Anne Newman, president of the GFWC Maine Southern District, were also recognized.

GFWC Maine State President Maureen Provencal of Skowhegan, left, and GFWC State Treasurer Jane Briggs of Newport. Submitted photo

Billie Sherman, past club president, lectured and entertained the guests seated at cafe tables decorated with white tablecloths, place settings and floral arrangements. In an effort to honor members past and present, Sherman walked through an extensive 140-year timeline of displays (some of which date back to 1882, when the club was formed) consisting of historic documents, vintage photographs, newspaper articles, annual club scrapbooks, and mannequins dressed in period clothing.

The 140th Anniversary Celebration Committee, chaired by Marjorie Coburn Black, was comprised of Sharon Adams, Debra Burnham, Bonnie Chamberlain, Vi Ferland, Sue Ellen Lexier, June Nickerson-Hovey, Freda Toneatti, and Billie Sherman. Local musician David Hovey provided piano accompaniment.

To attend a meeting either in person or via Zoom, call Sherman at 207-474-5052 or Cayford at 207-474-9820.

Guest Davida Barter, left, sits with Debra Burnham, past club president. Submitted photo



Check out other upcoming area events!