Four new advisors have joined the Maine Community Foundation’s Kennebec County Grantmaking Committee.

They are Nate Cotnoir of Sidney, Elizabeth Jabar of Waterville, Angela Parker of Benton and Darcy Whittemore of Readfield.

MaineCF’s county committees are made up of community members who live or work in the county and serve as local ambassadors for the foundation, sharing their knowledge and providing on-the-ground local leadership for the foundation, according to a news release from Taylor Mace, senior communications and marketing specialist with the foundation.

The Grantmaking Committee’s volunteer county advisors review grant proposals for MaineCF’s Community Building Grant Program and recommend grant awards from the Kennebec County Fund. Community building supports a broad range of projects and organizations across the state, including arts, education, environment, economic development and human services.

Cotnoir is a commercial banker employed by Camden National Bank who serves on the boards of Maine General Health, Augusta Housing Authority and the Kennebec Valley Chamber of Commerce.

Jabar, the Lawry Family Dean of Civic Engagement at Colby College, serves on the boards of United Way of Kennebec Valley and the Portland Museum of Art and is an advisor to the Indigo Arts Alliance.


Parker owns three childcare centers, and with her husband owns a contracting company and a mixed martial-arts gym.

Whittemore, a retired educator, serves on the board of the Torsey Pond Association and is a volunteer for Capital Area New Mainers Project.

The Kennebec County Fund has this year awarded six grants totaling $38,570.

For more information, visit



Check out other upcoming area events!