Full-time teachers at Greene, Leeds, Tripp and Turner schools may be eligible for the Patience W. Norman Prize for Teacher Excellence at the Maine Community Foundation (MaineCF).

The award recognizes School Administrative District 52 teachers who stimulate intellectual curiosity, raise aspirations and demand critical thinking in their classrooms. Teachers must have a minimum of five years tenure at SAD 52 schools.

Patience Norman was a history teacher with a fine, inquisitive mind who believed her students were capable of academic excellence. She required her students to work hard and challenged them to surpass hers, and their own, expectations. The donors’ hope is to promote teacher retention by recognizing an educator who exemplifies excellence in teaching, according to a news release from Taylor Mace, senior communications and marketing specialist with the foundation.

Nomination forms are available at mainecf.org/scholarships. They must be postmarked by Friday, Oct. 13.

Check out other upcoming area events!

Comments are not available on this story.