AUGUSTA — The Maine Chapter of American Mother’s, Inc. plan to host its annual Holiday Gala on Saturday, Nov. 18, at Le Club Calumet at 334 West River Road. A social hour begin at 5 p.m., with dinner and entertainment set for 6-7:30 p.m. followed by the program.

President Lina Michaud announces that the chapter has received 12 nominations from across the State of Maine for the 2024 Maine Mother of the Year. Maine has been honoring mothers, through the National Organization of American Mother’s, Inc. since 1945, according to a news release from Michaud.

“This year we have the great honor of sharing in this wonderful evening and celebration with our 2024 Nominees and we invite family, friends and community members to join us,” states Michaud.

Congratulations, 2024 Maine Mother of the Year Nominees: Rene Albison of Augusta, Jacqueline Doucette of Sidney, Jennifer Fortin of Augusta, Melinda Jorgensen of Augusta, Karen Kelley-Grenier of Fairfield, Rachel Lachance-Kilbride of North Vassalboro, Lorana Laliberte of Sidney, Kimberly Jo Matthews of Thomaston, Caermella Patriotti Hardy of Augusta, Tamara Pierce of Chelsea, Jessica Richards of Jefferson, and Sherry Sullivan of Chapman.

Michaud stated that the Maine Chapter has the National Board of Director’s select the Maine Mother of the Year Honoree, each year and the mother selected will represent and be a voice for all Maine Mothers at the National Convention held in Omaha, Nebraska, in April 2024. The Maine Honoree will be notified in January and will join other ,others from across the country and compete for the 2024 National Mother of the Year.

Michaud was named the 2019 Maine Mother of the Year Honoree and has served as the president of the Maine Chapter since she returned from her trip to the National Convention held in Washington, D.C., in spring 2019.


She will be passing the torch to the 2023 Maine Mother of the Year Lisa Newell, who will be sworn in as president of the Maine Chapter on Friday, Dec. 1.

Michaud says the Chapter continues to grow and they will be installing a full suite of officers, along with Newell.

President Lisa Newell (2023 Maine MOY)
1st Vice President Adrian Phair (2020 Maine MOY)
2nd Vice President Rebecca Pushard (2020 Merit)
3rd Vice President Lisa Johnson, member
Treasurer Cynthia Oakes, member
Secretary Jennifer Fortin, member
Historian Terry Cloutier (2015 Maine MOY)

Michaud will stay on in a past president/advisory role and looks forward to helping to continue the great works of the chapter in educating, empowering and supporting Maine Mothers and the family unit, as a whole.

“It’s been most rewarding and an incredible honor to serve and lead, such an amazing organization,” Michaud said, however, she is looking forward to planning for retirement and spending more time with her growing family and two new “Yorkie” puppies and is confident the new leadership will stay on course and be very successful, for years to come.

The Little Italy Buffet dinner costs $25 per person.

To reserve a spot, call Michaud at 207-485-4710 by Wednesday, Nov. 8.


Check out other upcoming area events!

Comments are not available on this story.

filed under: