AUGUSTA — Former Aroostook County potato farmers Bernard and Norma Shaw of Augusta were presented with the 2012 Agriculture Commissioner’s Distinguished Service Award at the 71st annual Maine Agricultural Trades Show held recently at the Augusta Civic Center.

Their volunteer efforts have included helping to run the Windsor Fair and weekly work with the Augusta Food Bank. Bernard Shaw served as agriculture commissioner from 1988 to 1996. He has held positions with the Maine Potato Council, Maine Potato Board, Aroostook County Extension Service, National Potato Promotion Board and the Agricultural Bargaining Council and represented Maine for many years at The Big E — the Eastern States Exposition.

Both natives of Limestone, the Shaws are in their early 80s and retired from farming, but still active in volunteer efforts.

They have been married 61 years.

AUGUSTA — The Bicycle Coalition of Maine’s board of directors recently presented awards to the following individuals for their work to improve bicycling in Maine:

* Dave Richard, founder of the Central Maine Cycling Club in Vassalboro.

* Brian Alexander, founder and president of the Central Maine chapter of the New England Mountain Bike Association (CeMeNEMBA).

* Deborah Emery, principal of the Henry L. Cottrell School in Monmouth.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.