AUGUSTA — Maine’s four Electoral College members have cast their ballots for Democratic incumbent Barack Obama and Vice President Joe Biden, formalizing the outcome of the presidential election in Maine.

Secretary of State Charlie Summers convened the hour-long ceremony Monday in the Maine House of Representatives Chamber. The tally was as expected.

This year’s Presidential Electors in Maine were Diane Denk of Kennebunk representing that 1st Congressional District, Marianne Stevens of Kingfield representing the 2nd District, and at-large electors Craig Hickman of Winthrop and Jill Duson of Portland.

Electors of all 50 states and the District of Columbia convened Monday to cast their ballots. A majority of the 538 electoral votes was required to become president.

Across the country, Obama captured 332 electoral votes compared to Republican challenger Mitt Romney’s 206 electoral votes.

Obama won the popular vote by nearly five million votes.

Comments are no longer available on this story