Two running backs and a wide receiver from Class A schools are the finalists for the 42nd Fitzpatrick Trophy, awarded annually to the top senior high school football player in Maine.

The three finalists, selected from 10 candidates by a vote of football coaches from all three classes of competition and members of the media, include Donald Goodrich of Cheverus, Alex Shain of Sanford and Chandler Shostak of Cony.

Goodrich, who averaged 8.65 yards per carry, rushed for 1,722 yards and scored 24 touchdowns.

Shain rushed for 1,400 yards and scored 28 touchdowns.

Shostak caught 58 passes for 853 yards and 12 touchdowns.

The Fitzy winner will be announced at the annual banquet Jan. 20 at the Holiday Inn By The Bay in Portland.

Augusta and Waterville news

Get news and events from your towns in your inbox every Friday.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.