ANN ARBOR, Mich. — The U.S. men’s hockey team for the Winter Olympics has been announced.

Jimmy Howard, a former University of Maine goalie – who couldn’t help Detroit beat Toronto on Wednesday in a shootout –  appears to be the Americans’ third goaltender behind Jonathan Quick and Ryan Miller.

While at UMaine, Howard led the Black Bears to the 2003-04 Frozen Four championship game, losing 1–0 to the University of Denver. While Howard was playing for the Black Bears, he was drafted in the second round by the Red Wings. During his three seasons with the Black Bears, Howard set team and league records.

Bobby Ryan didn’t make the cut. The 2010 Olympian was perhaps the most surprising omission on the 25-man roster revealed Wednesday after the Winter Classic.

At the Sochi Games, the U.S. forwards will be: David Backes, Dustin Brown, Ryan Callahan, Patrick Kane, Ryan Kesler, Phil Kessel, T.J. Oshie, Max Pacioretty, Zach Parise, Joe Pavelski, Paul Stastny, Derek Stepan, James van Riemsdyk and Blake Wheeler. John Carlson, Justin Faulk, Cam Fowler, Paul Martin, Ryan McDonagh, Brooks Orpik, Kevin Shattenkirk and Ryan Suter will be on defense for the Americans.

Comments are no longer available on this story