AUGUSTA — Schools and state offices are closing early Thursday because of the snow storm.

Gov. Paul LePage announced that state offices in Kennebec, Androscoggin, Cumberland, Knox, Lincoln, Oxford, Sagadahoc, Waldo and York counties will close at 2:30 p.m.

State offices in other counties will remain open during normal business hours.

The University of Maine at Augusta is scheduled to close at 2 p.m.

Schools in Augusta, Winthrop, Regional School Unit 2, and Regional School Unit 38 sent students home early Thursday because of the snowstorm.

In Augusta, Cony High School students were released at 10:45 a.m., and elementary students at the city’s other school buildings were released at 11:45 a.m., according to the school system’s website.


Regional School Unit 2 students were also sent home early Thursday. RSU 2 schools are in Richmond, Monmouth, Dresden, Hallowell and Farmingdale. Release times vary, by school, according to district officials.

In Winthrop, students were dismissed at 11 a.m. Thursday from the high school, 11:15 a.m. from the middle school, and 12:10 a.m. from the grade school, according to the schools’ website.

RSU 38 schools in Manchester, Mount Vernon, Readfield, and Wayne planned to release students at 11:30 a.m. Thursday.

For storm related closings and cancellations throughout Maine, click here.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.