Voters in Windsor rejected a proposal to withdraw from Regional School Unit 12 on Tuesday.

The ballot question was shot down 682-445. Palermo, which was also voting on a withdrawal question from the same RSU, rejected the proposal 495 to 214.

The towns will remain part of RSU 12, which covers Windsor, Palermo, Somerville, Alna, Chelsea, Whitefield and Westport Island. Earlier this year, Wiscasset withdrew from the district.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.