AUGUSTA — The Maine Arts Commission has announced its 2015 Individual Artist Fellowship award winners. Fellowships reward artistic excellence, help advance the careers of Maine artists and promote public awareness of the creative sector in the state, according to a news release from the commission.

The program, which offers awards of $5,000, was updated in 2014 to offer two new discipline categories, bringing the number of fellowships to seven — Contemporary Craft, Functional Craft, Literary, Media, Performing, Traditional, and Visual Arts.

Applications were received from 139 artists across the seven categories. After the review process was completed, the commission approved the following funding recommendations.

This year’s Fellows:

• Filmmaker David Meiklejohn of Portland

• Puppeteer Robin Erlandsen of Bar Harbor

• Sculptor Wade Kavanaugh of Albany Township

• Poet Glenn Morazzini of Cumberland

• Furniture maker Christine J. Dentremont of Swans Island

• Ceramicist Jonathan Mess of Jefferson

• Traditional snowshoe maker Brian Theriault of Fort Kent

More information about these artists is on the agency’s website at

For information about the Fellowship Program or the awards, visit or contact Kathy Ann Shaw, senior grants director, at [email protected] or 287-2750.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.