Detective Scott Bryant, of Jackson, a 20-year veteran of the State Police, recently was named Trooper of the Year at the annual State Police awards ceremony at the Maine Criminal Justice Academy. Bryant is the longest serving member of the department’s evidence response team, a specially trained group of investigators that gather evidence at crime scenes. The Chief of the State Police, Col. Robert Williams said in the release from Stephen McCausland, “Detective Bryant will go anywhere and respond any time if an evidence technician is needed. He is the State Police’s expert on evidence gathering and his work schedule shows his commitment.” Bryant joined the State Police in 1995 and has been a detective since 2003.

Others honored were:

Alan Cyrway, Special Award of Commendation. Cyrway is a loss prevention manager for Rite-Aid. He worked with police at a pharmacy robbery at the Camden store last September and his efforts helped free the store’s pharmacist, who was held by a gunman.

Loren and Olivia Joyce, of Portland, Special Award of Commendation. The couple discovered a one-car crash off the Maine Turnpike and helped rescue a baby trapped in the car.

Leon Chick, a nurse at Mercy Hospital, Special Award of Commendation. Chick assisted Trooper Doug Cropper with a driver who had overdosed on heroin along I-295 in Portland.

Wade Shorey, of Greenbush, and Leo Moody, of Kingman, State Police Bravery Awards. The two men rescued a baby from a car that had plunged into a stream in Washington County last November.


Gerald and Ken Jandreau, of St. Francis, and Trooper Adam Stoutamyer, of Mapleton, Special Awards of Commendation. The trio rescued a family of three from their car that had been stranded in the swollen St. John River in St. Francis in April.

Frederick Montgomery, Scott Hoch and James Hines, all from the China area, Meritorious Service Award. The trio rendered lifesaving help to a woman who had been stabbed.

Alan Cyr of Van Buren, Special Award of Commendation. Cyr witnessed a fatal crash on Route 161 in Madawaska Lake in March and provided State Police with detailed information on the wreck, that killed four people.

Nick Hashey, of Newburg, State Police Colonel’s Award. Hashey, a 17-year old from Hampden Academy, designed a computer system to help store data for State Police, saving the department more than $300,000. Hashey is the son of State Police Lt. Sean Hashey, the commanding officer of Troop E in Bangor.

Detective Herb Leighton and crime lab staffers, Lt. Bill Harwood, Sgt. Scott Gosselin and chemists Bradi Caron and Alison Gingras, Colonel’s Awards. The team helped organize an international conference held in Maine last year, for analysts of bloodstains.

Trooper Paul Casey, Mexico officer Dean Benson, Dixfield officer Dustin Broughton and Rumford officers Matt Desroches and Doug Maifield, Bravery and Meritorious Service Awards. These officers were commended for ending a gun battle with a man who had stolen a pickup truck and fired a number of shots at them.

Sgt. Keith MacKenzie of the Rochester, New Hampshire Police Department, Meritorious Service Award. MacKenzie and his bloodhound “Daisy Mae” successfully tracked down a man wanted for killing his girlfriend in St. Francis last year. The canine team ended a six-day manhunt.

Dan Bernardino, of Augusta, Colonel’s Award. Dan, who is still in college, volunteers as the lead drummer in the State Police Pipe and Drum Unit.

Troopers who were nominated for Trooper of the Year, were also recognized: Adam Schmidt, Troop A; Tyler Stevenson, Troop B; Blake Conrad, Troop C; Christopher Rogers, Troop D; Barry Meserve, Troop E; Nicolas Casavant, Troop F; Kevin Rooney, Troop G; Dan Ryan, Troop J; Marc Poulin, Troop K; and Randall Keaten, Major Crimes and Leonard Bolton, MIAC.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.