Leeds Historical Society members plan to explore historic locations in town during April and May as they walk and talk about the following places.

Union Cemetery and the Brick Schoolhouse: 1 p.m. Saturday, April 10
Union Cemetery, also known as Wade Corner Cemetery, has a number of notable burials from early doctor Thomas Francis Turner, to early state legislator Thomas H. Boothby, and Civil War veterans like Col. John Gilmore. Come hear their stories and explore others. Right across the road sits the former Brick Schoolhouse. Built during the War of 1812 as a powderhouse in which to store ammunition, it was then used as a schoolhouse — members will share some old school house stories — until the Leeds Central School was built, at which time it became a residence. Both are at the corner of Bernie Hartford Road and the Jennings Road. There should be plenty of area for parking on the less-used Jennings Road.

Bishop Hill homestead and cemetery: 1 p.m. Saturday, April 24
Zadock and Elizabeth Bishop left Monmouth in 1783 after being flooded out, and purposely built on one of the highest elevations in Leeds. Members will trace their family story through time to the present occupants, the Murphys. People can walk or drive about a mile south down the road to Bishop Hill Cemetery, where members can confirm only five burials — two of which are Revolutionary War veterans.

Meet at the old Bishop farm which is located 1.5 miles from Curtis Corner going north on Bishop Hill or two miles south from Leeds Center on Bishop Hill road. Arrive at the  brick farm house, and there is plenty of parking in the dooryard or along the road.

Riverlands State Park in Leeds: 1 p.m. Saturday, May 1
Come explore a portion of the Leeds section (330 acres) of the Androscoggin Riverlands State Park, with access allowed by a private land owner. This area was affected by the Gulf Island Dam and still has foundations to a number of homes and the remnants of the old River Road. Members will talk about one of the better-known people whose family settled here – Julia Griswold Berry, the hermit of Griswold Island.

Meet on Church Hill Road. From Leeds Center it’s about three miles on the road, and from Turner bridge it’s about two miles up the the road. It’s along the lowest point of the road. Parking is available in a small turnout or along the road.

People can bring a mask if they wish. Ticks may be out, so protection is advised. Rain dates and times for all of the walks are on the following Sundays at 1 p.m.

For more information, call Laura Juraska at 207-524-2324.

filed under: