The Guy P. Gannett Journalism Scholarship Fund and the Agnes Freyer Gibbs Scholarship Fund of the Maine Community Foundation have awarded $335,000 in scholarships to 16 students, all graduates of Maine high schools.

Students receive financial support for graduate and undergraduate studies at schools across the country.

New Gannett and Gibbs journalism scholarship recipients are Ella Anderson of Long Island, Ashley Allen of Yarmouth, Ryan Bell of Palmyra, Mark Fuller of Ellsworth, Logan Martin of Dover-Foxcroft, Kathleen Mcpherson of Kittery, Eliza Ramos of Bernard, Nic Roy of Old Orchard Beach and John Terhune of Somerville.

Renewing Gannett and Gibbs scholars are Abram Buehner of  Newcastle, Jacob Ireland of Charleston, Madison Morin of Benton, Samuel Pausman of Falmouth, Ethan Snow of Brooksville, Kristen Waite of Turner and Molly Whelan of Freeport.

A volunteer review committee selected the students based on demonstrated interest in journalism, excellence in academic performance, and financial need.

Applications for the 2022 Gannett and Gibbs scholarships will be available in January. Guidelines and a link to the online application are at

The Gannett Scholarship provides renewable support for students majoring in journalism or a field reasonably related, including print, broadcast, or electronic media. The fund helps pay tuition to attend an undergraduate, graduate, trade, or technical school. The Gibbs Scholarship provides renewable support to graduating high school seniors planning to major in journalism or a reasonably related field.

filed under: