CHINA — Voters on Tuesday reelected Wayne Chadwick to the Select Board for a two-year term and chose Jeanne-Marie Marquis for another seat on that board, also for a two-year term.

Chadwick and Marquis were joined by Brent Chelsey and Peter Foote in the race. Chadwick received 789 votes, Marquis earned 579, Chesley got 417 and Foote collected 396. All results are unofficial until confirmed.

Selectwoman Irene Belanger did not seek reelection to her seat.

The number of ballots cast Tuesday in China was 1,487.

In other races, Natale Tripodi was reelected to the Planning Board as an alternate at-large member for a two-year term. Thomas Rumpf was elected to the Budget Committee to represent District 2. Kevin Maroon was reelected to the Budget Committee as the District 1 representative. Both will serve two-year terms.

Thomas Jamie Bachinski was elected to the Regional School Unit 18 Board of Directors. The RSU 18 district includes the towns of Belgrade, China, Oakland, Rome and Sidney.

A question asking whether the town should have broadband high speed internet service was defeated, 876 to 547.

Related Headlines

Comments are no longer available on this story